Back to the Beginning

So, now I am 33 years old and am still suffering from these severe “spells”. I call them spells because I’m not really sure what they are. The first one I can remember happened when I was 15 years old. I was walking with some friends through a large baseball field when, out of nowhere, all of the blood seemed to rush out of my body and down to my feet. Before I could say anything, I was waking up on the ground with my friends gathered around staring down at me in horror. I was covered in blood – my face, my shirt – it was everywhere. I didn’t have time to put my hands out before I passed out and I ended up slamming my face into the ground. The rest of the afternoon is a bit of a blur but I do remember telling my friends not to call an ambulance. So, instead, they took me to the Burger King bathroom across the street and wiped some of the blood off me. It was no use though. I was still covered in blood and can still see the faces of the horrified parents as I walked past them and out the door while they sat there feeding their children.

To this day, I still don’t know why I told them not to call an ambulance. I knew I had broken my nose and that something was wrong with me. I guess I was so freaked out at the time I just wanted to go home and forget it ever happened. Except it kept happening. Over and over again.

Leave a Reply

